main logo

This website does not support versions of Internet Explorer below version 9. Please try updating your Internet Explorer or visiting on another browser. Thank You.

background imagebackground image mobile

Firm News

James J. Garrity Named Best Lawyers® 2023 Municipal Law “Lawyer of the Year” in Philadelphia

August 18, 2022

James J. Garrity

Wisler Pearlstine, LLP is pleased to announce that Partner James J. Garrity was named the Best Lawyers® 2023 Municipal Law “Lawyer of the Year” in Philadelphia. “Lawyer of the Year” recognitions are awarded to individual lawyers with the highest overall peer feedback for a specific practice area and geographic region. Only a single lawyer in a specific practice area and location is honored with a “Lawyer of the Year” designation.

“I am honored to be named the Best Lawyers® Municipal Law “Lawyer of the Year” in Philadelphia for the third time in my career,” Garrity said. “This recognition from my peers is very satisfying, but the award is truly a testament to all the excellent attorneys in our MUNICIPAL LAW practice here at Wisler Pearlstine.”

Mr. Garrity has spent his entire legal career at Wisler Pearlstine and was also named the Best Lawyers® Municipal Law “Lawyer of the Year” in Philadelphia in 2019 and 2017. His practice is divided between representation of commercial developers in land development matters (particularly shopping center, office, and multi-family development) in Montgomery, Bucks, and Chester Counties, and his responsibilities as the Solicitor to two Montgomery County Townships (Lower Salford and Springfield). Mr. Garrity’s commercial work includes the representation of owners and developers in large land use appeals which have required argument before the Commonwealth Court and Supreme Court of Pennsylvania. He has also been retained to act as Special Counsel on zoning ordinance validity challenges and curative amendments in numerous municipalities within Montgomery, Bucks, and Chester Counties. Mr. Garrity has been recognized by Best Lawyers® for more than 15 years.

Best Lawyers® lists are compiled based on an exhaustive peer-review evaluation. Lawyers are not required nor allowed to pay a fee to be listed; therefore, inclusion in Best Lawyers® is considered a singular honor. For more information, visit